Cleveland AHL conference switch

Cleveland Monsters to join AHL’s Eastern Conference for 2018-19 Season


Monsters to move to Eastern Conference’s North Division as part of league’s new realignment.

American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrews announced that the league’s Board of Governors, which convened for its Spring Meeting today in Chicago, Ill., has approved the following division alignment for the 2018-19 AHL season (National Hockey League affiliations in parentheses):

Eastern Conference                                                                       Western Conference
Atlantic Division                                                                             Central Division
Bridgeport Sound Tigers (New York Islanders)                            Chicago Wolves (Vegas Golden Knights)
Charlotte Checkers (Carolina Hurricanes)                                    Grand Rapids Griffins (Detroit Red Wings)
Hartford Wolf Pack (New York Rangers)                                      Iowa Wild (Minnesota Wild)
Hershey Bears (Washington Capitals)                                          Manitoba Moose (Winnipeg Jets)
Lehigh Valley Phantoms (Philadelphia Flyers)                             Milwaukee Admirals (Nashville Predators)
Providence Bruins (Boston Bruins)                                               Rockford IceHogs (Chicago Blackhawks)
Springfield Thunderbirds (Florida Panthers)                               San Antonio Rampage (St. Louis Blues)
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (Pittsburgh Penguins)            Texas Stars (Dallas Stars)

North Division                                                                                Pacific Division
Belleville Senators (Ottawa Senators)                                          Bakersfield Condors (Edmonton Oilers)
Binghamton Devils (New Jersey Devils)                                        Colorado Eagles (Colorado Avalanche)
Cleveland Monsters (Columbus Blue Jackets)                           Ontario Reign (Los Angeles Kings)
Laval Rocket (Montreal Canadiens)                                              San Diego Gulls (Anaheim Ducks)
Rochester Americans (Buffalo Sabres)                                         San Jose Barracuda (San Jose Sharks)
Syracuse Crunch (Tampa Bay Lightning)                                      Stockton Heat (Calgary Flames)
Toronto Marlies (Toronto Maple Leafs)                                       Tucson Roadrunners (Arizona Coyotes)
Utica Comets (Vancouver Canucks)

Changes from the 2017-18 season include:

  • Cleveland moving from the Western Conference’s Central Division to the Eastern Conference’s North Division
  • Colorado joining the AHL as its 31st active team and playing in the Pacific Division
  • San Antonio and Texas moving from the Pacific Division to the Central Division

The playing schedule for the 2018-19 regular season, which begins Oct. 5, will be announced this summer.

For a limited time, fans now have three ways they can secure Monsters Home Opener tickets on Friday, October 5th. Purchase a Monsters Summer Pack, featuring a Hockey Stick BBQ set or Monsters Beach Ball and Blanket, secure single-game tickets starting at $10 with no ticketing fees attached, or by booking a group of 10 or more! Visit today to get your tickets or call (216) 420-0000.

Additionally, 2018-19 Monsters Hockey Club Memberships, providing fans the ability to lock in the lowest ticket prices, the best seat locations to each game, custom member benefits, and an exclusive Monsters’ jersey are now available for as little as $32 per month! Group outing and birthday bash packages for 10 or more people are also on sale now. All tickets can be purchased by visiting, calling (216) 420-0000, visiting The Q Box Office or any Northern Ohio Discount Drug Mart. Be sure to follow the Monsters on Twitter @monstershockey, on Facebook at, and on Instagram at